Here we…suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese. Part Two

Continuing on from my previous post Here we…suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese.

Indian Food.

Whilst staying in Kyoto I noticed that there was an Indian restaurant across the street. To my delight this was a restaurant highly recommended in both the Lonely Planet guide and Timeout Kyoto. Kerala is a well known and popular Indian restaurant in Kawaramachi-dōri in central Kyoto. Popular for its lunch specials, a great variety of meals and especially for its ability to cater for vegetarians. I enjoyed a hot chicken curry with raita (a cooling cucumber yogurt), naan bread and fluffy rice. It was delicious and the portions were generous. I had to try a few times to get a table here as it can get very popular at dinner time. I have eaten here on both my stays in Kyoto and it remains as one of my favourite eating places.

Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese. Part Two

A generous portion of curry

Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese. Part Two

An meal at Kerala, Kyoto

Crepes

Takeshita Dori is the main street for people watching, shopping and eating in Harajuku Tokyo. The area is always packed filled with local youths wearing unique outfits, keen shoppers admiring the latest boutique fashions and many tourists keen to experience the area. The street is also filled with crepe stands- including Santa Monica crepes, Marion Crepes and Angel Heart. The area has been known for this sweet delicacy since the 1970s, where people would flock for these thin crepes filled with whipped cream, icecream, fruit and other sweet toppings.

Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese. Part Two Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese. Part Two

Chinese cuisine

There is something I find quite alluring about seeing ducks in the window of a Chinese restaurant. Although it is a horrifying thing I admit. I am a huge lover of roast duck, and I’ve enjoyed a few Chinese meals in Japan where juicy and crispy skinned duck was served. You’ll find plenty of Chinese restaurants serving fresh meat and rice based dishes in Tokyo.

Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese food.

Heathy salads.

On an adventure to Kamakura (the home of the famous Giant Buddha) I took a suggestion from a travel guide and stopped off at this cafe called Happy Deli. They served a range of freshly prepared vegetable salads served in a bento style. I enjoyed two salads with steamed rice. There was the roasted mediterranean vegetables and a curried potato salad. As a traveller I sometimes struggle to meet the vegetable or fruit daily serving suggestions, so I enjoyed being about to have a healthy lunch like this. The Happy Deli also serves tea and coffee, and is located next door to a gourmet ice cream bar which is very popular. Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese food. Here we...suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese food.
I hope that you get a chance to break out of the the Japanese diet whilst in Japan. There are so many different delicious cuisines on offer it’s a shame to not try them all!

Be safe. Be smart. Be good x

5 thoughts on “Here we…suggest what to eat when you need a break from Japanese. Part Two

  1. Thanks!!! You’re the first person so comment on the blog so I’m quite thrilled!!
    I totally understand. I’m in a similar circumstance. When I travel I do so on a strict budget, so I’ll always look out for budget lunch deals, local supermarkets and department store discounts. I found I didn’t have to spend a lot of money to eat well.

Leave a Reply

