Here we…rest our head at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok

Bangkok, the city of bustling streets, jam packed markets, tuk-tuks, water taxis, the scent of local street foods, temples and endless shopping. There is something here for every traveller. Bangkok, the capital of Thailand, is renowned for its mishmash of new world modern and classic tradition. I had intended to visit Bangkok as a pit-stop on route Thailand’s islands, but when I discovered the impressive architecture, ornate temples and thriving street food scene I knew I had to spend more time here. Every day I would head out for an adventure – climbing to the top of Wat Arun, battling it out in the shopping malls or discovering a love of foot massages- but it was always vital that at the end of the day I had somewhere peaceful to retreat to.

I had trouble deciding on a hotel in Bangkok. There are so many options, most at excellent prices, well located and with great facilities. In the end I decided on the Banyan Tree Hotel, because it met the above criteria and I also was desperate to go to its famous rooftop bar.

I chose a King Deluxe room, which was prefect for my needs, both in luxury and style. The room has a spacious living area with a day bed, arm chair, work desk, tv and drinks area. It was lovely to have an area beside the bedroom to relax and sit in. The living room and the bedroom both featured large windows overlooking the skyline, which up 42 levels was stunning.

Here we...rest our head at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok

The living area…and my travel partners legs!!

The bedroom, although on the small side, had a beautifully comfortable King size bed fitted with crisp linens. The second television was indulgent extra (who doesnt love to watch tv whilst in bed?).

Here we...rest our head at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok

Here we...rest our head at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok

How inviting does that bed look?

The room also had a luxurious, clean and spacious bathroom, although the bath tub was unusually small. Our room was tastefully decorated and had all the mod-cons we needed, but it was the small touches that impressed me- fresh fruit, bottled water and a selection of incense, just to name a few.

The hotel is well located in a business and embassy district of Bangkok. The hotel offers a complimentary tuk-tuk service that will deliver you to the local BTS station (Sala Deng) or it is a pleasant 10 minute walk through local streets to the station or the Patpong night markets.

Food surrounds you at this hotel- there are plenty of choices within the hotel, including the room service, the roof top restaurant, and cafes on the lowest level. Walk out the front door and you will find street food stalls. Cross the road to discover local eateries, markets and convenience stores.  The breakfast at the hotel is particularly note worthy with a great selection of exotic fruits, fresh pastries, continental and asian cooked breakfast, fresh juices, decent coffee- the choices are overwhelming!

The MoonBar on the top level is a must-do in Bangkok regardless of whether you stay at the hotel. I spent my final night there watching the nightlife below, enjoying a delicious cocktail and enjoying the balmy weather. Bangkok is truly an amazing sight at night.

Here we...rest our head at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok

The Moon Bar.

Here we...rest our head at the Banyan Tree in Bangkok

Delicious cocktails at the Moon Bar

IMG_0869

The only issue I had with this hotel is the confusing nature of the entrance. You need to go through one building to get to another. At the end of a long journey, whilst carrying heavy bags in the heat, having trouble finding the entrance was frustrating.

All in all- this is where I chose to stay and I’m glad I did. Would I stay here again? If I’m truthful I don’t know. Bangkok is a sprawling city and I’d like to explore somewhere close to the river, or one of the smaller boutique hotels that are growing in popularity. I’d recommend this is a solid choice- its beautiful, luxurious and reasonably priced.

Check out their website for more details- here!

Where do you choose to stay in Bangkok? Have you stayed at one of the Banyan Tree properties before?

Leave a Reply

